Sigve's New Gallery

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sigve's New Gallery

In 2017 I stopped posting pictures in this forum due to the problems with Photobucket.
    Photobucket, as many of us experienced, took away my pictures over 42 pages in my "Sigve's Gallery".
    I tried Flickr, but was not satisfied. Now I'll make a new try, this time using Postimage.org/no as my platform. I have no experience with this service, but I hope the best.
    Since my original gallery is now empty of pictures, this is no longer of any interest.
    Therefore I'll start afresh with "Sigve's New Gallery".
    Some of my postings will be repostings of old material, if I find it to have interest. And as you perhaps remember, I'm a great hurtigrute enthusiast.
    I will post both maritime matters but also other things, nature, travels, happenings big and small...
    Best luck to all of us!
    Regards Sigve.
    Regards; Sigve.
    ---
    IF I WIN IN LOTTO, I COULD GO EVERYWHERE. WITH FRAM....

Riksarkivets digital fotoweb has lots of maritime pictures, its use and downloads are free of charge.
    I will start my new gallery with this beautiful picture of Kong Olav in the ice around Svalbard. Picture from 1978-1982 in VDS' livery.
    In the years 1968-1982, hurtigruten had weekly express sailings to Svalbard in the summer. They also visited Bjørnøya. Harald Jarl, Nordstjernen, Lofoten, Kong Olav and Nordnorge sailed in this service, which came to an end in 1983 due to shortage of ships.
    This picture is undated, and photographer unknown. (Reposting from old topic).
    Try out the fotoweb yourself at https://foto.digitalarkivet.no/fotoweb/

Regards; Sigve.
    ---

Comment

D/S Prins Olav was one of hurtigrutens most beautiful ships. The former british royal yacht Alexandra (1907) was bought
      to Norway in 1925 and renamed.
      In 1937 she was radically rebuilt for hurtigruten service.